• Livestream AMA: Join SDN as we welcome Dr. John Ligon, a Pediatric Oncologist with the National Cancer Institute on May 11th at 8:00 PM Eastern. Register now!
Apr 7, 2021
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Hey, first time posting on here, but have been lurking for quite a while. I just want some feedback on my school list and overall application. I want to preface this by saying that I am an Indiana resident, which makes IUSM my in-state school. This seems to be probably the best in-state school to have in terms of being relatively easy to get into. They place a super strong emphasis on taking in-state applicants, and the acceptance rate for in-state applicants appears to be ~50%. This combined with me wanting to not spend a crazy amount of money applying makes me think that it's okay for me to just apply to like ~12 schools if I pick them well, but open to feedback on that. (I hope its okay that I stole this template from someone else lol)
  • State/Country of Residence: Indiana
  • Ties to other States/Regions: Did my undergrad out of state in WI, still considered in-state only in IN. Adding Wisconsin and MCW due to this connection though
  • URM?: No (White male)
  • Year in School: Junior
  • Undergraduate Major(s)/Minor(s): Biochemistry major, Computer Science Minor
  • Graduate Degrees (if applicable): none
  • Cumulative GPA: 3.83
  • Science GPA: 3.86
  • MCAT Score(s): 519 (128,129,131,131)
  • Research Experience: ~1,500 hours over three years, all with the same lab.
  • Publications/Abstracts/Posters (include how you were credited e.g. First author, second author, etc.): Publication in progress, don't think it'll be ready to include on my app )-: I did a poster for my bio class that they said was official, and we could list on applications, but that seems pretty weak to me