Dismiss Notice
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

School list help please. URM 3.7cGPA 3.7sGPA (just took MCAT but was scoring low-mid 30s)

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by drchris4791, 05.19.14.

1. SDN is made possible through sponsorships and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. drchris4791

drchris4791

Medical Student (Accepted)
    Hey Everybody. I was hoping that I could get some feedback on my tentative school list.

I graduated from Fordham University last year and have been using my year off so far to study for the MCAT, teach, and volunteer. I am an NY resident and would like to stay in New York for medical school but its also been my dream to study and practice in California. I am also a Puerto Rican URM. I would appreciate any school suggestions or advice on applying in the northeast and in California (MD/DO). I am hoping I do as well on the MCAT as my practice exams suggested (33-35).

STATS/WORK/EC/VOLUNTEER
    Biology Major/ Philosophy Minor
    3 years as an active EMT (volunteer)
    Shadowed a Peds ER physician (~100 hours)
    Summer Undergraduate Mentorship Program at Einstein (Summer 2010)
    Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP) at Einstein (Summer 2011)
    1 and a half year long independent research experience at Fordham University
    Summer Research experience abroad in Madrid, Spain at the Cajal Institute under a famous neuro P.I.
    Several conferences attended and posters presented
    Upcoming global health research project in Dublin, Ireland at Trinity College
    1 Semester teaching College Biology as apart of the STEP program (works with underserved students) paid
    College Strive Mentor(weekly 2014) (guiding Bronx students through the process of applying to 4-year colleges) (volunteer)