School list strategy with unbalanced stats?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hendeaux

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks,

I wanted to ask for advice when making a school list. I graduated in 2010 and worked for four years in political campaigns before returning to school for the post bac. Here are some stats:

uGPA: 3.34 (English major) Post bac: 4.0 cGPA: 3.54 sGPA: 3.79 MCAT: 524

What I'm seeing is that at many schools where my sGPA and MCAT is around the median, my cGPA is below the 10th percentile. At schools where my cGPA is closer to the median, my MCAT is well above the 90th percentile.

I'm still working on putting a list together, but I'm wondering if anyone has general advice for a strategy with this type of profile? I think it's tempting to think about this as if the post bac/MCAT is the only thing that counts because it's most recent, but I don't believe that's totally realistic.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Do you have some viable reason to explain the discrepancy between the MCAT/Postbac cumulative and the undergrad and sGPA? I think the consensus is generally that you can't "get lucky" on the MCAT like you can on tests like the LSAT. You're high MCAT coupled with a low sGPA would normally suggest either you had some event(s) that destructed your GPA (death of a family member, etc during school) or that you are overly intelligent but not a hard worker (which bodes poorly for medicine).