School Orders and Work

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TAbrown

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently completing my summer school orders and have a few questions. What do most HPSPers do during their school orders (I'm studying for boards)?
I was thinking about getting a part-time job, but was told that I could not moonlight. Has this been anyone else's experience?

Members don't see this ad.

I would recommend getting the upcoming academic schedule/reading materials and begin studying full time.

Do research. I talked with many of my classmates at graduation and they said they were told during interviews that their applications would have been strengthened by research on the CV.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am currently completing my summer school orders and have a few questions. What do most HPSPers do during their school orders (I'm studying for boards)?
I was thinking about getting a part-time job, but was told that I could not moonlight. Has this been anyone else's experience?

I would recommend you either devote your time to academic endeavors or try to find something non-medical to do with the military.

My first school orders were during out 3 week "summer" between first and second year, so I spent my time relaxing and working (already had a job, had been working throughout first year). My second school orders will be right around boards time, so I'll study, have a vacation, then attend some fun classes before rotations start.

I had 2 campus tours (already had officer training taken care of). One I used to study exclusively for Step I (much needed).