School Reputation & GPA

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by scooter31, Feb 19, 2002.

1. scooter31

scooter31 'Ello Guv'nah!

Quick question- I graduated from a UC (UCD to be exact), and compared to some top notch schools- Ivy's and Stanford for example- your grades are lower due to grade inflation at those other schools. How does this fare for UC applicants? Is there some kind of levelling of the field, so that a 3.0 from a UC will hold the same weight as a 3.3 from, say, Yale? I was just told this by someone, who said that UC applicants can squeak by with SLIGHTLY lower grades because of not having the inflated grade policy (whatever that entails). I'm confused, can anyone straighten me out on this?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Test Boy

Test Boy Senior Member

IMO, a 3.3 from Yale probably carries more weight than a 3.3 from any of the UCs, including Berkeley. In fact, I think a 3.3 from yale carries more weight than a 3.5 from Berkeley if all other things are equal. Prestige of undergrad carries a lot of weight.

4. Naraku

Naraku Senior Member

Not... necessarily.

I graduated from Cornell with a 3.3, and was told flat out by one of my interviewers that the Dean of Admissions of that school was interested solely in the numbers- that he preferred a 3.9 from a no-name state school to a 3.7 from an Ivy League school. (And as I had neither a 3.7 nor a 3.9... but I digress.) My interviewer diagreed and told me that he personally felt that some schools (like Cornell, which is one of the few Ivy League colleges to _not_ inflate grades :) ) should be weighted differently, but it wasn't his decision to make.