MD Schools to look into/apply? (Green card but studied in Canada)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Crust

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
PLEASE DO NOT QUOTE THIS MESSAGE.

First time poster, long time lurker. Hoping you could all help me out with some ideas of where to look into applying, since I don't know TOO much about US MD Schools.

In short, I'm currently looking to apply this year (in September). I know it's late, but it's how the timing worked out for me with my commitments.

About me:
I'm a latino USA resident (Green card), but I have done both, my BSc and Masters (research-based) in Canada.

Undergrad cGPA: ~3.75 (with an upward trend (3.97 GPA in last 2 years)
I'm not really sure how to calculate the Science GPA...but I think it should be around 3.45-3.65 (depending on what I take into account).
Masters GPA: 4.0.

MCAT:
Written twice in the past before the change, but did not do well.
Writing again in August. (Last Practice MCAT: NS FL1, 507; 127,125,127,128)

Clinical Experience: None that I can think of, unless working with a cytogeneticist counts or doing translational research (and no shadowing)

Research Experience: Plenty
  • Experience in 4-5 different labs through work, volunteering, or school
  • 2 "journal club" publications
  • Author on 3 manuscripts in preparation (1st author on one of them).
  • Presented my research at an international conference (which I got a travel award for), and various mini conferences within my university
Extracurricular:
  • Pro-Bono volunteer consulting for NGOs/Charities (2 years)
  • Orientation week coordinator/leader (4 years)
  • Plenty of school student council/organizations
  • Went on exchange to study abroad
  • Worked various jobs through undergrad
  • Played on intramural teams and have done some long distance running on my own
Honours/Awards:
  • Some merit-based awards
Some schools I was considering looking into:
UCLA
UCSD