Sci gpa is better than cumulative? Better or worse?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

istunn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys, I have been reading through the forums for a while (The info on here is great!) but I am a new poster. I am currently a 4th year pharmacy student who will graduate in May, however I want to go to med school. I am also wondering how my Pharm.D will affect my chances, either positively or negatively. I did horrible for my first 2 years of undergraduate study so I had to retake some classes. Since I am a Texas resident, I wanted to apply to TCOM and allopathic Texas schools, but I am also open to other schools. Due to my current stats, it seems like I have a better shot at getting into an osteopathic school which is fine with me. In the end, I want to be a physician and in Texas, DO's are just as respected as MD's so I don't compare them. I calculated 2 seperate GPA's according to AACOMAS and TMDSAS standards as accurately as I could, however TMDSAS may be different as I did not get a Bachelor's and the website stated that it may include my pharmacy coursework for my science GPA. I would imagine that the allopathic med school gpa calculator operates somewhat like the TMDSAS calculation.

TMDSAS GPA
Cumulative: 3.319
Science: 3.449

AACOMAS GPA
Cumulative: 3.438
Science: 3.673

Pharmacy GPA
Overall: 3.51

I have done a lot of EC's in undergrad as well as during pharmacy school. My community service EC's are probably my strong point, but I have done research and published a couple of papers in pharmacy journals. I have also been shadowing a physician since this past summer.

I have yet to take the MCAT and plan to do so this summer after I finish physics 2 as a pre-req. It seems like that magic number is at least a 28, so I hope to do well. Please don't question my interest in med school as I sacrificed a lot just to apply. This is what I want to do.