Science is awesome

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spinach Dip

Delicious with nachos
10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Either someone found a glitch in the matrix, or this is what the triple point of a substance looks like.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
1378329498-shutterstock_117356578.jpg

Members don't see this ad :)
Saw it earlier, it's cool, but is it something spectacular? Never took any meaningful science courses btw.

1250543_feel_jpg550888eb1818399536ea76a8491fba8c

Reactions: 1 user
Have you guys ever used a rotovap? I saw the solvent trap do this a few times when I was an undergrad. It was never that intense but it was still weird to see.

Have you guys ever used a rotovap? I saw the solvent trap do this a few times when I was an undergrad. It was never that intense but it was still weird to see.

Not that I remember. And nice tiger cubs in your avatar. That brings the feels. :happy::couchpotato:

Not that I remember. And nice tiger cubs in your avatar. That brings the feels. :happy::couchpotato:

Mountain lion cubs actually! It brings back my memories from working in a zoo...

And a rotovap looks like dis.

rotovap1.jpg

Mountain lion cubs actually! It brings back my memories from working in a zoo...

And a rotovap looks like dis.

rotovap1.jpg

They're still cubs! :biglove::love::biglove:

Aw man.. that thing... i remember that from my ochem lab to vaporize a solvent after a distillation (or recrystallization?) from an esterification reaction... i won't get near that with a 10-foot pole.

We used in plant partitioning. separate plant material out of hexanes, DCM, ethanol. It was okay, but sometimes I'd spend a half hour to an hour trying to get it to work. I couldn't manage to make the water run one to work to save my life.