Science LORs from Undergrad a MUST for Non-Trads?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Got Em

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is my situation. I am a pharmacist working 40-50 hours per week and have been out of undergrad for 7 years now (8 years by the time I apply). I work 10 days straight with an eratic schedule of 8am-4pm or 2pm-10pm that flip flops. This makes it almost impossible to take classes that are not online. I actually have all the pre-reqs that are needed, so there is no point for me to re-take the classes anyway. Needless to say, I'm having trouble with the science LOR requirement. Also, since most of my pharmacy professors are in the field to expand the knowledge and scope for pharmacists, this would likely create a conflict of interest if I ask my pharmacy professors.

Now, is there anyway that I can get by without any science LORs from an undergraduate institution? I can get LORs from my work and other pharmacists in my field, but is the science LOR a must? If it comes down to it, I will definitely ask my professors in pharmacy school, but I'm not going to be able to get any LORs from my undergraduate school. How did you guys get by without taking more classes? I would like to get a general feeling on this process before I email each school that I'm interested in applying to. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

No. I didn't use any undergraduate letters.

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't see how asking pharm profs is a conflict for them. They are/were your most recent professors in a professional school. Either way, contact your schools of choice and ask them directly how they feel about it. I'm guessing recent profs are better than UG in your case

Who did you get your letters from if you don't mind me asking? Also, were all the schools that you applied to okay with no undergraduate letters?