screw up looking for a second chance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Silk80

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all this is my first time posting, (sorry for length)
Currently I go to a 4-year university and my GPA is about to drop below a 2.0. At this point i believe I will be kicked out of my college. Im currently a senior and have always been struggling with grades since I started due to long hours of work (30+ a week,and an athlete for the school ) while trying to pursue a degree in biology. I don't know what to do but I know I'm done for after this semester and I want to change my ways. I know I screwed up big time and I always wanted to be a doctor and I know I can do it because I have gotten A's in upper division Bio courses I just haven't been consistent. I've also fell into a depression because about 2 years ago I knew my chances of med school were shot after failing chem I twice.... However instead of moping around and dwelling on the negative things that are happening, I want to redeem myself. I know deep down I can get into med school and I wont give up no matter how bad things will get. My question is what should I do? If i get kicked out of my current university should I just start over at a CC? Or should I try to get back in? Please any advice I would appreciate Thanks. Also I'm 24 yr in CA if that helps.

Members don't see this ad.

It's generally better to take your classes at a four-year-university as opposed to a community college. I believe AACOMAS does grade replacement, so this might be a good way to quickly improve your GPA. You should also try to limit your outside commitments (athletics, work) for a while to see if that helps you get better grades.