GCS-15

2+ Year Member
Aug 4, 2015
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Hey everyone,

I graduated undergrad a couple of months ago and plan to apply June 2017, so I was looking to work/volunteer/build up my application in the meantime. I already have a good amount of clinical hours by working in a primary care clinic and ER (500ish hours) and also around 70hours of shadowing. Do you think a scribe would position would really add anything to my application? I was also interested in Americorps positions, so if anyone has any insight/has done it before, any advice would be great.

Kpw101

5+ Year Member
Jul 18, 2013
Status
Medical Student
With a good amount of time in the ER and a primary care clinic I think the Americorps will be a better and newer experience! I haven't had experience with Americorps before but have a general sense of it. I think Americorps will add diversity to your application that being a scribe won't.

Reactions: GCS-15

Doctor Dream

Eating the 5 pancakes
5+ Year Member
Mar 2, 2014
Dreamland
Status
Medical Student
I'm finishing up an AmeriCorps term and it has been extremely rewarding, albeit stressful and challenging. Keep in mind that it probably looks good on an app, but its not like an automatic admission ticket by any means. It's a lot of hard work for little pay (like below minimum wage) and you'll likely be pushed in every way possible.
I tutored and mentored at-risk kids in my hometown which was so fun and rewarding. There were many times though I came home exhausted, frustrated, or even depressed from hearing about all the crap some of my kids endured throughout their lives. I loved my position so much though that I'm doing a second term.