SDNers, you rock! + 2 questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bounty

1K Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so I am starting this whole application process and I have been reading a lot of the SDN threads...Can I just say that you guys are awesome? I am so impressed by how supportive and non-competitive and un-premed-y you all are!
Congrats to all you 2002 applicants who got accepted and to all of you on waitlists, I am keeping my fingers crossed.
I am sure I will be annoying you guys with lots of questions since it all seems so overwhelming right now...
Here are my first 2:

1) Are there any disadvantages to applying to a bunch of schools? I know cost is one, but aside from that. Do the schools communicate? Would they be less likely to accept someone if they knew they were applying to a million other schools too?
I am thinking about 20-25 (but i am a california resident so I know I cant rely on my state schools).

2) I just graduated and so I will be taking time off from school this year. Did any of you do this? If so, what did you do during that year?

I hope i am not asking questions that have been thoroughly answered before! :rolleyes:

Members don't see this ad.

For a CA resident, 25 is average.

•••quote:•••Originally posted by Bounty:

1) Are there any disadvantages to applying to a bunch of schools? I know cost is one, but aside from that. Do the schools communicate? Would they be less likely to accept someone if they knew they were applying to a million other schools too?
I am thinking about 20-25 (but i am a california resident so I know I cant rely on my state schools).

2) I just graduated and so I will be taking time off from school this year. Did any of you do this? If so, what did you do during that year?