Second Bachelor's, Gap Years and the Application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chainlink

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I have been a long time lurker here, but finally decided to break my silence by asking this awesome and experienced community for some advice.

I graduated May 2016 from NYU with a B.S. in Public Health and completed all of my prereqs plus a few extra science classes. However, my GPA was mediocre at best (3.3 cGPA, 3.0 sGPA). Long story short, my naive self had my head on upside down and backwards throughout undergrad. My saving grace is that I did gain research experience in an orgo lab during a semester abroad in Sydney and gained about 300 hours of hands-on clinical dental experience with an underserved population in Champaign, IL. Ultimately, I decided to move home after graduation to use my gap year working full time at the local health department. In order to raise my GPA and form relationships with science professors that I did not make while at NYU, I will be leaving my job to obtain second bachelors degree in Biology starting in August. My advisor determined that it will only take me 2 semesters (the 2017-2018 school year) of a full and manageable science schedule to obtain a second degree. Additionally, I am scheduled to take my DAT this May.