Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Second Thoughts about Medicine

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by poiuyt123, Dec 8, 2008.

1. poiuyt123

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I'm currently a freshman in college and I'm having second thoughts about pursuing a career in medicine. While there are some premeds out there who are unaware of the med school debt/decreasing reimbursements/malpractice/paperwork/long hours/etc, I understand these problems somewhat because I've read many threads on SDN and read about these issues elsewhere.In addition to this, I come from a family where pretty much every single person is doctor except my parents and a few others. After seeing that many of my family members are making good money, I was inspired and realized that I should work hard and become doctors just like them. Before any of you jump to conclusions and accuse me of "chasing the dollar" and entering medicine just for the money, please understand that I actually have a genuine interest for medicine. I am not expecting any extravagant lifestyle and would be content becoming a primary care doctor who earns 150k-160k. However I've recently realized that many of my family members who are doctors or are currently studying to become doctors, never had any debt. Many of them studied medicine in a foreign country and came here when doctors were paid extremely well. They had no debt to worry about because education wasn't too expensive there and lived great lifestyles here because they were paid so well. In addition, many of my cousins who are currently in the process of becoming doctors don't have to worry about medical school debt because their parents are doctors and are willing to fully pay their debt. Most of them are currently in