Second Undergraduate Degree in Psychology

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by Confused_Engineer, 10.30.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Confused_Engineer

Confused_Engineer

Hello all,

Confused Engineer here. As you may have deduced, I am currently pursuing an undergraduate degree in engineering (Industrial Engineering to be precise). I am in my final year and am set to graduate this upcoming May.

It is at this point (and, realistically speaking, throughout my entire UG career) that I am seriously questioning whether this is the field that I would like to be in.

I have always had a strong interest in psychology. Or, rather, the career prospects offered by it. Plenty of people 'have a strong interest in psychology'...
    You see, I have always been an observer of the behavior of people. Human behavior has always perplexed me. I find it incredibly complex, but also at the same time incredibly predictable.

This tendency of mine has given me a large degree of empathy. Through it, as well as other life circumstances, I have found that I am incredibly good at relating to other people and helping them through problems. This, of course, makes me interested in the counseling field.

Of course, it is important to keep in mind that I have spent the past four years in an environment full of engineers and scientists. The prospect of pursuing a 'soft' career sounds like a betrayal to my prior training. Thus, I am interested in a sub-section of the mental health field in which I can apply systematic principles whilst at the same time providing help to those in need. I would like to one day become a clinical psychologist.