Second year dental student who cannot get used to my loupes for the life of me.

StudentDentistsRock

5+ Year Member
Jun 22, 2015
Status
  1. Dental Student
Hey everyone,

I’m a second year dental student here. Gonna try to keep this short.

i simply cannot get used to using my loupes. I absolutely HATE them. I always trY them on when drilling but end up taking them off 15-20 min into my preclinic lab session. I prefer regular vision, but my posture kills me.

I feel like i need the tooth to be up in my face for me to be properly working/drilling. When I’m doing crown preps for instance with my loupes on, I have a hard time telling how deep into the tooth I am going. I also have a hard time seeing tooth line angles and the finish line of my preps. I have a headlight, and i have a station light, both which i tried adjusting multiple times, but no luck. Although the tooth is in focus when I am working (I am working at the measured optimal distance for the loupes), the tooth just seems far away (if that makes sense). I want the tooth to be in focus just as it is with my loupsets on, but I want the tooth closer to my eyes.