Medical See my story. A post-bacc or a master of biomedical sciences?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
A little background on me:
I am a non-traditional pre-medical student who got into medicine late in the game. Here is my story.
Dec 2015, I graduated with an undergraduate GPA (cum GPA: 2.608/ science GPA: 2.38).
At the time, my chances of getting into grad school seemed bleak, but I applied to graduate school anyways.
Miraculously, I somehow got into a graduate program. Started my program in Fall 2016.
At the same time, I began volunteering at a free health clinic and found the fiery passion for medicine and a strong desire to become a doctor. I have been with the clinic for 3+ years.
As such, I took a few classes at a community college (O-chem 1 &2 + lab and medical physiology) while in grad school. According to AMCAS, this would count as my post-bacc GPA (3.33 GPA)
Today, I finished my Master of Science in Microbiology with a 3.97 GPA with a thesis in the process of being published. (Note: this program highly emphasized research. The course load was not rigorous.)

I will be taking the MCAT this August.

I am definitely a student who is in need of reinvention and right now I am stuck.

Just recently, I found out I got into a pre-med post-bacc program (PMPB) and a Master of Biomedical Science program (which is essentially a SMP). I am not sure which would be better for me considering my stats.

Which route would you recommend? The PMPB or the master of biomedical science.

Again here are my stats:
Undergrad: cGPA: 2.608/sGPA: 2.38
Post-bacc: 3.33 GPA
Graduate: 3.97 GPA
MCAT: TBD this August
What would be left for you to take for postbac courses?

Sent from my SM-N960U using SDN mobile
Nothing really. I finished all the pre-reqs requirement.