Seeking Advice for a Non-traditional Student.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MakingMovement

Reaction score
Hi there,

I was hoping to get some advice as to whether it would be impossible for me to get into a dpt program with my academic history.

Some background: I pursued a degree in psychology did relatively well the first three years (maintained a 3.0 gpa), but interned for a state mental health department and realized how corrupt the system was, which ultimately steered me away from the system completely. Long story short, I was a young college student and lost the motivation to continue pursuing that degree, fell into depression and failed my last year there.

I spent the next four years working full-time and getting promoted every year in the field of higher ed accounting (taking care of financial issues), but realized that I had no passion in working in administration in which I am not actively helping a person in need--made that epiphany when I got a second job in customer service and realized how much I enjoyed work involving face-to-face interactions and providing service to others--and after a year, got promoted to supervisor.

Now that I am finally at a place where I feel mentally and financially ready to finish my degree and have the confidence in myself to work hard towards something I may find passion in, I came across the possibility of working in the field of physical therapy as I have a constant desire to heal others any way that I can, nursing being another field that I found myself attracted to as well.