Seeking advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SerotoninStorm

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, and thanks for taking the time to read my post. I'm a 25-year old who graduated from Univ. of MD College Park in '06 with a dual B.S. in Zoology and Psychology. I was planning to become a behavioral researcher and worked in an animal behavior lab for a year after I graduated college, but I became interested in healthcare after my father died suddenly from a MRSA infection. I switched to working in a clinical NeuroPsychiatry lab at Johns Hopkins SOM and have been here for over a year, recruiting out- and inpatient drug users for brain imaging and EEG studies on neurotoxicity; my main goal besides recruiting them has been to administer psychological and neuropsychological test batteries. I've really enjoyed it and was planning to apply to PhD programs in clinical psychology, but I've started to think that I would be really limiting myself to go into clinical psych instead of medicine. Although I admire the field of clinical psychology, I've seen how often clinical psychologists must defer to physicians in clinical and research situations and how much more flexible and knowledgeable a well-trained physician can be in many of those situations (I am not slamming psychologists at all, these are just my honest observations). I'm very interested in neurology and psychiatry and conducting clinical research in those fields, and it seems that medical training is by far offers the most comprehensive education one could hope to receive in terms of both the basic and clinical science of those fields, and it seems to me from my experiences at Hopkins that physicians without PhDs don't have much difficulty in becoming involved with clinical research at all.