Seeking Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dimitrios

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I posted this on a Canadian forum, I thought I might ask you lot as well.

Hello all,

I am in first year university right now, and I had some questions regarding the "big four" Caribbean schools. In my first semester at York University (Canada), I have these grades so far:

3 Credit Class: B+ (7/9)

3 Credit Class: A (8/9)

My overall first semester GPA (out of the York scale of 9): 7.33

I am doing a bit better in my classes this semester; here are my projected marks (optimistically realistic):

3 Credit Class: A

6 Credit Class: B+

6 Credit Class: A

Projected overall GPA: 7.6 (Give or take, it can be from 7.5-7.7, my film and chemistry marks are borderline right now).

NOTE (On the OMSAS Scale): 7=3.0/4
8=3.8/4
Also a 7.6 is about a 3.6 on the four point scale using this chart:

http://www.ouac.on.ca/docs/omsas/c_omsas_b.pdf

As mentioned above, I am looking at the Caribbean medical schools. I realize that I can finish my required med schools classes (e.g. orgo, physics, etc) by the end of my second year. If I keep on the same track as now (i.e. my grades don't change too much), what do you think of my chances of getting in? I have quite a bit of volunteer experience from high school, and a bit of experience now, for example I have a semester of volunteering at a life science lab in the university. Also, will they give accept me after my second year (even though i would not have done my MCAT by then), or will I have to be accepted after my third year (if I do my MCAT during my second year summer, or somewhere around then)?

Thanks in advance for any help guys, its much appreciated.
smile.gif

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I posted this on a Canadian forum, I thought I might ask you lot as well.

Hello all,