Seeking guidance on next steps as Nontrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

younjoh

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! So I know I'm yet ANOTHER nontrad seeking guidance from the wise people of this forum, but here goes :) I realize that if I am to make the right decisions now, I am in desperate need of expert guidance. As a word of warning, yes I am a total "newbie" to the medical world, but I would like to give it my all now that I'm older and more mature (22). For those that read through my paragraphs, musings, and many questions, thank you so much, your advice may ease my stress! :)

I'll start with undergrad. I graduated in 2012 from Grinnell College (private liberal arts) as a German/Global Development Studies major. My GPA was about 3.202. Low, I know, I was an econ major originally, and a D and withdraw later, changed my major.

Most of my previous experience in the sciences dealt with ecology and environmental science. As a consequence I haven't taken any of the prereqs for med school.

I'm currently a grad student at USC studying landscape architecture. After studying through this semester (ending in December) I've realized that I really want to be in a program with more rigorous sciences. A lot of the reasons I applied (more freedom, ability to make an impact) cannot be realized with this degree. I fully expect to get straight A's at the end of the program.

That leads to my first question.
1. Would leaving grad school at the completion of this semester to take prereqs make me look like a "quitter" on my application? I'm worried about not being taken seriously, but at the same time I don't want to invest more money into something I won't consider doing in the future as a career. (I am really worried about this). I could convert my masters into a certificate, but that would mean 20k worth of expenses.