Medical Self-Care and Medical School with the “Triple Shot of Beauty” Blogger

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

This interview is the latest in an Accepted blog series featuring interviews with medical school applicants and students, offering readers a behind-the-scenes look at top medical schools and the med school application process. And now, introducing Haley….

Accepted: We’d like to get to know you! Where are you from? Where and what did you study as an undergrad?

Haley: I’m originally from Richmond, Virginia and I went to undergrad at a small, liberal arts school in Virginia called Longwood University. Fun fact— they are actually hosting the Vice Presidential Debate this year. In undergrad I studied Biology, but also Philosophy. My favorite classes were those in Logic and Ethics, as well as Immunology and Microbiology.

Accepted: Can you share three fun facts about yourself?

Haley: Absolutely!

1. I moved quite a bit as a kid for my dad’s job— including a few years in Tokyo, Japan.

2. I am a coffee mug collector— seriously, I’m obsessed with them. Anything pretty, unique, or funny and I want to drink coffee or tea out of it.

3. My cat is named after Jonas Salk— he was adopted on World Polio Eradication Day.​

Accepted: Where are you going to medical school? What year are you?

Haley: I attend a midwest DO school and am currently in my third year. I’m actually in the middle of my fourth clinical rotation right now!

Accepted: What would you say were the highs and lows for you in the med school application process?