seven or eight?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

earthangel

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi, i am a freshman in an eight year med program w/ a seven year option.... i was just hoping to get some insight from ppl currently in college... some things i guess u should know when responding.... yes, i have to take the mcat (and get 9's)... yes, i have spoken to my family and they all want it to be seven years... yes, i am an american desi
o, yea i have to maintain a 3.2 gpa
thanx ;)

Members don't see this ad.

What do YOU want though?

If it were me, I'd go the full eight. No reason to stress yourself out to squeeze out a measly year of your life. Spread things out. Allow yourself to enjoy things other than school and studying. In fact, I'm on the 9 year plan: five years of college, 4 years med school, assuming I get in this year. If I don't get in this year, that even puts me on the ten-year plan.

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by Drako:
•What do YOU want though?•
Drako makes a good point.... what do YOU want? You know capacity better than anyone else.... This is your future not others.... Good luck in whatever decision you make.

Yeah, I'm on the 9 year plan, too -- but 4 years of college, 5 years of med school. I wouldn't have done it any differently, although I have gotten a bit of heat from my family. Now that I'm a 5th year med student, I think my mom has finally "accepted" my decision to do a 5 year plan! :)

My take on it is that I have my whole rest of my life to be practicing medicine, but while I'm in school I have the opportunity to do a whole lot of other things that I might never get to do again. By spreading out my time, I've been able to enjoy my life both as an undergrad and as a med student. And I definitely don't think I'm missing out or getting too old by taking the extra time.