sGPA 3.8 MCAT 510 Please critique me as realistically as possible!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jkfedfx

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN,

I'm applying this year and it seems like most people on here are very helpful.

I am a California Resident; Asian Male.

Getting a B.S. Microbiology
cGPA 3.90, sGPA 3.76
(Unfortunately I couldn't balance college courses well in high school, so AMCAS put that into my science GPA as well. I really hope med schools ignore that and see that it has been 3.84, 3.88, and 3.9 for the following undergraduate years)

MCAT 510: Physical 128 CARS 125 Biological 131 Psych 126

Shadowing: 36 hours
Founder and President of my school's Premedical Club
Peer Tutoring: ~400 hours
Hospital Volunteer: ~500 hours
Phlebotomy: ~600 hours
Research on MRSA: ~1120 hours No publication, but one is under-revision and should be published rather soon.
There are a couple more, but I think those are really minor. This is the crux of my extra-curricular activities.

Dream school: UCLA
Applied to all UCs including UCSF
Albany Medical College
Albert Einstein
Baylor
CA Northstate
Temple
NYMC
Penn State
Quinnipiac
SUNY Upstate
TJU

DO Programs:
Michigan State University COM
Western University COM
Touro in Nevada COM

Please let me know what you guys think, critiques and all.

Thank you guys so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Wrong forum. Should be in WAMC.

That aside, good ECs (tons of hours), GPA and MCAT (though CARs score might be a little worrying). List seems reasonable enough to me in terms of state preference. However, if you're set on MD, you will need more schools to be safe. UC's make for terrible backup/safeties and based on your numbers (same as mine), you're at/above average for UCI and UCD. Also drop UCR unless you went to UCR or are from the inland empire.

The CARS is low but not killer (it's about an 8 or 8 on the old scale).

GPA and ECs are fine.