SGU to Drexel transfer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shadyhtown

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm currently a first year med student in St George's Univ. in Grenada. Thinking of transferring to Drexel for my 2nd year. I have a great GPA at SGU and a 30+ MCAT score, so I figure my chances are decent.

But I'm fairly happy at SGU, and doing pretty well here so far. Got a cushy RA job for the first 2 years. Also, I get a few grants which makes SGU's tuition about 10K a year cheaper than Drexel. Plus, I'm concerned that Drexel's curriculum might be tougher.

The only reason I'm considering transferring is because Drexel is a US med school. But I know SGU has a good name in US circles too. And in any case, I'll be back in the US (most probably NYC) for my 3rd and 4th year clinicals.

So what I want to ask is, is it worth the hassle to transfer to Drexel just for the US MD over IMG? Would it help me very much? Or should I just stick to SGU? Also, which is better - clinicals in NYC or Philly?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
The match is getting much much more competitive, and that means that less spots for even well known schools like SGU. I would save the headache and come Stateside.

Apply. If you get into Drexel, go there. If you are looking for any residency besides Family Med or Psychiatry, you will face tough competition being an IMG. Good luck.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi. I'm currently a first year med student in St George's Univ. in Grenada. Thinking of transferring to Drexel for my 2nd year. I have a great GPA at SGU and a 30+ MCAT score, so I figure my chances are decent.

But I'm fairly happy at SGU, and doing pretty well here so far. Got a cushy RA job for the first 2 years. Also, I get a few grants which makes SGU's tuition about 10K a year cheaper than Drexel. Plus, I'm concerned that Drexel's curriculum might be tougher.