Deanis

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Dec 23, 2006
BC, Canada
www.facebook.com
Status
Medical Student
I'm in first year and just did a suture workshop run by a trauma surgeon at a hospital affiliated with my school. I didn't think of it during the workshop, but I'd like to shadow her, so I google-stalked her and found her contact info. The question is - is it appropriate for me to email her out of the blue to ask if I could shadow her?

mordounhas

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 16, 2007
Status
Medical Student
I think it would be fine. Just say you were at the suturing workshop and were impressed. I don't think anything bad could really come of it.

justdoit31

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 13, 2008
Status
Resident [Any Field]
At least at my medical school you can email just about anyone and shadow- they rarely say no. Most of our lecturers even give their emails/office numbers during lecture and ask us to contact them if we are interested in shadowing. Some of my classmates (1st year) are in the OR once a week.

penguin24

Don
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Sep 2, 2008
Midwest
Status
Resident [Any Field]
If you want to be polite and give them an escape just in case they prefer not to have med students shadow, you can write something like, "I realize you are extremely busy and may not have time to take on a med student to shadow, but if you wouldn't mind, I would love to shadow you to see the type of work a trauma surgeon does"

That way they can say no w/o sounding unfriendly.

Scrub MD

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Apr 13, 2005
Status
Medical Student
Email and ask. Most likely they will let you. If they don't email you back, which most don't. Walk down to the surgery offices and ask about shadowing or contact info or leaving a message for someone about it.

OpalOnyx

10+ Year Member
Aug 15, 2008
Status