Shadowing/Observing MDs in Melbourne, Australia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WocoMed11

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm a senior pre-med student from the States and am studying abroad in Melbourne (University of Melbourne) for Semester 2. I am here until the end of November.

What I'm trying to figure out is if I can shadow/observe a doctor while I'm here. I've talked to my study abroad advisers that are local Australians, and they seem a little confused as to what exactly I'm trying to do, so I was wondering if undergraduate shadowing is even done here?

I've had about 150 hours of clinical shadowing back home in the States, but I wanted to experience Australia's medical field first hand. I've read about their health care policies, and am interested in speaking with or observing an Australian doctor since it's always different when you hear from someone who is living it everyday.

So my questions are whether or not it is possible to observe physicians while I'm in Melbourne, and if it is possible, if anyone has any contacts that would be willing to let me observe them? Any help is appreciated as I've been reaching dead ends both on the forums and on internet searches. Thanks in advance for the help!

Members don't see this ad.

From what I've seen, entry into medicine in Australia is based (almost) entirely on test scores and GPA. Therefore, unlike with North America, activities such as shadowing and hospital volunteering, while nice, are not required before applying to med school. That might explain the confusion.

Good luck with your search!

It is very hard to do as a non-medical student, as there are major issues with getting permission from the hospitals, the legalities as well as big problems with patient confidentiality and consent. Many of the hospitals are also full of medical students on rotation and on elective from overseas.