soh5

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 28, 2004
University of Washington
Status (Visible)
Hey everyone,

I have been lurking around SDN for sometime, and I guess I'll make my entrance. I currently go to the UW (washington) and I know for a fact that its not how much volunteering you do, but what you get out of volunteering. My question is this, the volunteering experiences that Ive done has been basically transporting lab specs around the hospital, and that to me isnt too meaningful. I have been shadowing a doc around the UW, but I havent shadowed much due to class lately. My question is this... Which is better, shadowing a physician or volunteering? I want to get more clinical experience, but I am unsure of what path to take. Can you guys give me some advice? Thanks guys! :cool:

BubbleBobble

Where's the "any" key?
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Nov 23, 2003
Seattle, WA
Status (Visible)
I'm an undergrad at UW too, and my volunteering experience was as an assistant in a nursing unit at the UW Med Center. I agree that volunteering isn't useful if you're only going to be delivering things around the hospital, so that's why I tried to get a volunteering position that gave me as much patient contact as possible.

On the flip side, I saw things at the hospital mainly from a nurse's point of view, rather than a physician's. I didn't mind this, but it is something to keep in mind.

Andrew_Doan

Doc, Author, Entrepreneur
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Oct 1, 2002
San Diego, CA
www.facebook.com
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
soh5,

Welcome to SDN! ;)