• Advice You're Thankful for Contest

Now that it's getting close to Thanksgiving, we're running a contest to hear advice you've received that you're most thankful for! This can be any type of advice and the advice with the most reactions will win!

JOIN CONTEST

shaky hands

ironlung

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 29, 2002
so. cal.
    i am a first year dental student and i have noticed that my hands shake sometimes. seeing as how i am going to start treating patients fairly soon, i was wondering if anyone had any advice about things i can do to control it, or, what could possibly be the cause of it. this is pretty embarrassing, and i really hope that i can curb this problem before its too late. any comments or advice would be great...especially from those already practicing dentistry in the 'real world'.

CraigWVU

7+ Year Member
    15+ Year Member
    Mar 2, 2003
      Have you noticed this all your life? I personally just started seeing my hands shake and to be quite frank, it scared the hades out of me. But, if your worried, its probably just stress, Anxiety, low blood sugar. I found that if you are worried about your preps, there is many ways to "get around it" One that I personally use is to use your mirror as an additional rest. Try it on the mand's and you will see what I mean. Another thing is just keep moving, don't try and cut preps etc, without a constant moving motion!!! I hope that helps!!!

Gilbert

7+ Year Member
      15+ Year Member
      May 14, 2002
        Several years ago the presence of hand tremors (present in both hands, but more severe in my right) prompted me to go to the physician. I was diagnosed via a simple TSH blood test with hyperthyroidism?just a suggestion.

About the Ads

ironlung

7+ Year Member
        15+ Year Member
        May 29, 2002
        so. cal.
          gilbert,