Shands/UF audition rotation - should I go?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blueridgenc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I am looking for some advice. I am very interested to get into IM residency at an MD program. I am currently a 4th year DO student. My comlex I score was 470/80 and waiting to get my comlex II score. I didn't take USMLE step 1 but I am taking USMLE Step II in August.

I am scheduled to go to Shands/UF jacksonville in September for an IM rotation. As much as I would absolutely love to go because I think if nothing else it would be a good experience but here are some of my reasons why I am thinking about canceling my Shands Rotation.

1. My kids start school in late August, and it puts a huge burden on my family if I am not home.

2. Based on what clinical coordinator of Shands told me, I don't think it will help me much to get residency. Instead, I think it would come down to Comlex Score which I recognize mine is (comlex I) very poor.

So I am thinking I probably don't have a good shot at UF Jax anyways. Thus I am wondering if I should cancel this september rotation at Shands.

Any advice/comments would be great, especially anyone familiar with Shands.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all! I am looking for some advice. I am very interested to get into IM residency at an MD program. I am currently a 4th year DO student. My comlex I score was 470/80 and waiting to get my comlex II score. I didn't take USMLE step 1 but I am taking USMLE Step II in August.

I am scheduled to go to Shands/UF jacksonville in September for an IM rotation. As much as I would absolutely love to go because I think if nothing else it would be a good experience but here are some of my reasons why I am thinking about canceling my Shands Rotation.

1. My kids start school in late August, and it puts a huge burden on my family if I am not home.