Shifting my Gap Year Plans due to Pandemic

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ultimakey

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just like everybody else, the virus screwed over my future plans too. I had been planning on departing with the Peace Corps the Summer right after I graduated (June 2021), but with Corona, a global program like Peace Corps probably won't be shipping off volunteers until an effective vaccine is mass produced. The timeline I had been planning for years was:

1. Graduate in 2021 (when I'm 21 years old) and depart for Peace Corps.
2. Return when I'm 23 and spend the rest of the year (until May) studying for the MCAT.
3. Apply the year after and hope to get into Med School (I'd be 25 if I'd get in first cycle).

With the uncertainty around when Peace Corps is going to relaunch (mainly thanks to the inaction of certain people in DC), I'm not sure if I should just wait it out or move on with my life and choose an alternative. Assuming things settle down by late 2021, Peace Corps could begin sending volunteers in the Summer of 2022. I'm considering a few different options:

Option 1: Apply for Teach for America (and hopefully get accepted) and just follow the same timeline I would have had for Peace Corps.

Option 2: Wait it out a year after graduating to see if the Peace Corps begins operations again in early-mid 2022. I could try to work in a clinical setting during this time (since I have fairly low clinical hours (also thanks to Corona!!)).

Option 3: Apply for Americorps and spend a year with the program. If things settle down and Peace Corps reopens in early-mid 2022, I could apply and join. If Peace Corps does not reopen by then, I'd consider doing another year of Americorps (if I thought the first year went well enough).

The only "downsides" would just be the extra year I'd be out of school for the second two options.