Should I apply my Junior year or wait?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ronnicus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I met with my pre-med advisor and he said that my application was severely lacking in clinical experience and commented on my poor interview skills. He said I basically have no chance if I apply next year and should instead take a gap year. I was really shocked because I have pretty average stats (3.6, 34 MCAT)and had always assumed that one MD school somewhere anywhere would take me. Honestly, I haven't been involved in any extracurricular activities- been focusing on my grades- but I figured I could start junior year with the volunteering and shadowing and a bit of research and I'd be ok. After the talk I've been looking seriously at DO schools as well because although I prefer MD I would really not like to wait another year to matriculate. What do you guys think? I'm a California resident so I can't count on my state schools but there should be a couple low tier MD schools interested in an ORM with decent stats right?

Members don't see this ad.

What are your EC's? If you have no clinical experience, no shadowing, no other volunteering, and little to no other EC's you are dead in the water applying. Having decent stats doesn't matter at all if you haven't done anything else significant. If you truly don't have those EC's, you need to take a year or two to develop some long term commitments and build a substantial background in each. Interview skills you can work on in the shorter time of this cycle, but if you don't have the background to even possibly land you an ii, it doesn't really matter.

Without any shadowing or clinical experience, you have virtually no chance. Keep your grades up, start volunteering and shadowing asap, get involved in research, teaching, clubs and do things that you enjoy. You need to have something to talk about during interviews!