Should I Apply Out of State?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pepperjill

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I'm a CA resident and I'm applying to at least 3 in state schools (UCSF, UCSD, and UOP). I know that pharmacy schools in CA especially are very competitive to get into right now so I have also been planning on applying to 2 schools in Chicago (UIC and Midwestern) just in case. For me to just apply to these schools I need to: take the PCAT in Oct, take anatomy lect/lab, and take a 2nd chem class. I'm also working full-time through AmeriCorps so I'm not sure if it's feasible to apply, study for PCAT, take classes and work full-time. I'm beginning to question whether this is worth it or not.

Below are my stats from the WAMC thread:

a. Schools you are applying to
UCSF, UCSD, UOP, Cal Northstate, University of Illinois at Chicago....maybe more if I complete more prereqs (those are holding me back)

b. Overall GPA

c. Math/Science GPA

d. GPA in last one or two school years
3.5, but my science grades dropped from mostly As to mostly Bs when I got to upper divs and started becoming more involved in extracirriculars (I'm really worried about my science grade trend)

e. Complete PCAT scores (or just composite)
Plan to take for Chicago

f. Pharmacy experience obtained
I volunteered at the univeristy health center pharmacy for one semester

g. Date of application submission (PharmCAS/primary and secondary)
By August 2009

h. Number of LORs and source of LORs
4 LORs: Work supervisor, 1 science professor, 1 lab professor, and 1 pharmacist

i. Non-pharmacy work and/or volunteer experience
Sexual Health peer educator, dorm peer advisor, American Cancer Society volunteer/committee chair and Habitat for Humanity

j. Self-perception of interview skills