Medical Should I apply this year? Post-bacc, SMPs or masters?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, first off I want to say THANK YOU for taking the time to read my post.

I'm about to graduate with a major in Biological Sciences and a minor in Medical Anthropology from my undergraduate UC university in a few months. Here are my stats:

Huge upward trend:
  • 1st year: 3.3 GPA
  • 2nd year: 2.8 GPA
  • 3rd year: 3.12 GPA
  • 4th year (current) : 3.4 GPA and 3.22 sGPA
About me:
I am a first-generation student/low-income student. I grew up in section 8 housing with a single parent. Although I am extremely lucky and blessed to have my mother raise me and my siblings, she had major depression and developed cancer. When she was diagnosed with cancer, I became the 'head' of the household. Working multiple small neighbour jobs at the age of 13 in hopes that a few dollars would help with the bills because food stamps weren't enough. My older sibling got into cocaine and street gangs when he was 12 and as a result, we had to move a lot.