Should I apply to Dental school or do a Masters program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gogoclever

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm planning on applying to dental school this June as early as possible. However, I'm second guessing myself after doing some reading on SDN and researching stats for schools that I want to apply to. My GPA is 3.52 overall and science GPA is a 3.33, DAT scores are 20AA, 19 sci, 21 PAT, 22 reading. I've held leadership positions, volunteering, done research, interned for 350hrs as a dental assistant etc. Currently taking a year off and working fulltime for the government in a lab. A little worried my science GPA is a little low and other than that it seems like a lot of people have stats that are a lot higher than mine. I'm a California resident and plan on applying to all 6 California schools, UNLV, Midwestern Az, NYU, Tufts, BU, Lecom, UF and a few more. Should I be applying to a Masters program this year in case I don't get any acceptance letters from dental school next cycle? Or will I have pretty good chance of getting into dental school somewhere? I'm just not exactly sure what I should be doing and thought it would be great to get some feedback here since people are very knowledgeable here.
P.S. my dream school is USC and would really love to go there, I live in LA and would like to stay here

Members don't see this ad.

I think you'll be fine. TS is a little low but I'm sure you make up for it elsewhere in your resume.

Your GPA and DAT are good enough to apply for dental school and you have a good number of extracurriculars as well. I see no reason why you couldn't get into a dental school. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
We have very similar stats. I applied a bit late (app was mailed late August). You should be fine if you apply early.

My results were as follows:

UNE: pre-dec interview, accepted in jan, declined offer