Should I apply to med school this year or next year? Unique circumstances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PremedGunner

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all
i went to a community college and xfered to a UC. my gpa is a downward trend since starting at the uc. my major is very difficult. i dont want the downward trend to show that im not capable of handling university level coursework. my total cumulative gpa is 3.66 and my total science gpa is 3.63. Based on this information alone should i apply this year or wait till next year to see if i can get the gpa higher?
THANK YOU!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey y'all
i went to a community college and xfered to a UC. my gpa is a downward trend since starting at the uc. my major is very difficult. i dont want the downward trend to show that im not capable of handling university level coursework. my total cumulative gpa is 3.66 and my total science gpa is 3.63. Based on this information alone should i apply this year or wait till next year to see if i can get the gpa higher?
THANK YOU!!!!

Based on this information alone it is impossible to determine what you should do. Take the MCAT and then ask again.

a significant downward trend can only be fixed with 1.5-3 years of upward to steady trend.

Members don't see this ad :)
Based on that alone, wait a year.

I forgot to mention that the downward trend consists of last semester where i got a c, b, b+, b+. i usually get a's and b's. is this considered a downward trend?

I forgot to mention that the downward trend consists of last semester where i got a c, b, b+, b+. i usually get a's and b's. is this considered a downward trend?

1 weak semester won't do you in. If you manage a 32+ on the MCAT, you're good to go. 30-31 is a maybe. <30 would probably be wise to wait a year.