Should I ask a professor I don't really know for a recommendation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Med1992

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I missed my chance for using my school's committee letter, but I'm kind of relieved because I've heard they're really nit-picky and have written not-so-nice things about some students.

But anyways, I took a senior-level (aka 4000 level/upper-level) Biology class with a really cool professor, and I legitimately liked the subject material a lot. It was basically about pathogenic bacteria and a little bit about the immune system, too. I studied and worked hard, got my A and got an A in the 1-credit lab also.

However, I never really went to office hours, except to make up an exam that I had to miss for an excused purpose. Otherwise, he might not really know me, but I know that that was an actual hard class that many others struggled with. It wasn't an easy A or anything and required a LOT of work.

I need a Biology professor to write me a letter. Should I ask him? Or would that be weird/not acceptable since he doesn't know me well? If I asked him, I'd obviously send him a resume or personal statement or something like that and tell him about myself and future plans.

And I'm sorry if this is a stupid question. I honestly don't know how this works.

Members don't see this ad.

He might not even write one for you then.

So, I missed my chance for using my school's committee letter, but I'm kind of relieved because I've heard they're really nit-picky and have written not-so-nice things about some students.

But anyways, I took a senior-level (aka 4000 level/upper-level) Biology class with a really cool professor, and I legitimately liked the subject material a lot. It was basically about pathogenic bacteria and a little bit about the immune system, too. I studied and worked hard, got my A and got an A in the 1-credit lab also.