Should I be Happy or Sad??

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by AF1892, Oct 22, 2001.

1. AF1892

AF1892 Member

Hey all,

I don't know any other premeds, so hopefully you guys can give me some advice. MCAT scores came today after re-taking this April's.

April: 6V, 9P, 11B =26
    August: 9V, 9P, 8B =26

I studied my ass off for verbal (I speak 3 languages), and didn't review the others. I've applied to 22 schools (some top & low ranked). My GPA is 3.5, research, etc.. Any input? Should I apply to more schools?

Thanks!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. SMW

SMW Grand Member

I think you should be happy. That's a much better distributed 26 the second time around. Schools will look at both sets of scores, and know you are capable of the 11 in BS, and a 3 point improvement in Verbal is terrific. You should probably apply to some more lower ranked schools, if you don't want to re-take. Depending on where that 3.5 GPA is from, I'd say not to bother with sending money and secondaries to the higher ranked schools unless you're a URM or have some fantastic EC's or research.

4. Resident Alien

I think someone has to help me here......what are "fantastic extracurriculars", and "killer personal statements" exactly?

5. X

X

I am also wondering what are GOOD "extra-curriculars"? Is it better to be in school realted clubs or outside ones?

I am not in any school related organizations but several other hobby-type orgs. and have hospital volunteer. Good or bad??

X :confused:

6. SMW

SMW Grand Member