PharmEm

10+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2005
Status
Hi everyone,
I just found this forum a week ago and I'm very THANKFUL I did. Here's my situation:
I have a degree in business and worked for a year as an analyst. I realized that the corporate life wasn't for me, so I'm back in school (a university) taking the pre-req's for pharmacy school. During my FIRST undergrad years(the place I got my degree from), I took some science classes such as general chem and bio (b/c I was doing pre-med) but didn't do too great in them, B's And C's. I even took the 2nd general chem 2 times. But like I said, I'm taking the pre-req's for pharm school right now and I'm making a 4.0.
My question to you is, how do you think pharmacy schools will look at my record since I've gotten B's and C's the first time I took those science classes but I'm getting all A's in them now?
My other question is, should I be thinking about other schools. I'm currently interested in...

Univ. of Texas at Austin
Texas Tech
Univ. of Houston
Univ. of Wash
Univ. of Chicago
UCSF
USC
UCSD

Are these schools WAY out of my reach based on my situation that I stated above? I'm really starting to think I made a mistake going back to school b/c I feel that I won't get into pharmacy school (the ones I stated above) and I really would like to get in the Fall of '06. PLEASE give me any advice and opinions, thank you in advance!

P.S. Sorry, one more question: Is it okay to apply to schools even though ALL the pre-req's haven't been completed? This is my 2nd semester but I want to apply next fall and the only classes that I'll be lacking are Organic and maybe BioChem. Thanks again!

TMVegas

SDN Angel
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 3, 2005
Status
Most people apply before they finish their pre-req's

WVURxGal

Mountaineer
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Dec 8, 2004
Morgantown, WV
Status