puglovuh

2+ Year Member
Jul 27, 2016
Hi everyone,

I'm a first gen college student and I don't really have anyone to go to for advice so any help would be appreciated.

I'm wondering if I should bother applying to med school this upcoming year...So far my stats are: 3.92 GPA, 506 MCAT, 3 years research, 3 years office job, and hardly any volunteering.

I was thinking I should finish up my senior year while working as a CNA and getting more volunteering/shadowing, then applying for both physician assistant school and med school and see what happens.

Any pointers or advice???

mw18

5+ Year Member
Jan 7, 2014
Status
Medical Student
I wouldn't recommend anyone apply unless they've got a healthy amount of volunteer work.

Do you really want to be a PA or a physician? Depending on your state schools you could give yourself a shot at MD, but with some volunteering I think you could definitely be successful MD/DO.

OP
P

puglovuh

2+ Year Member
Jul 27, 2016
I wouldn't recommend anyone apply unless they've got a healthy amount of volunteer work.

Do you really want to be a PA or a physician? Depending on your state schools you could give yourself a shot at MD, but with some volunteering I think you could definitely be successful MD/DO.
The med schools (or, at the very least, my state school) I plan on applying to have app deadlines in November. So even if I get some volunteer experience between now and then (maybe 80 hours), is that still not good/safe enough?

Also, I can't decide between PA and physician yet...I've been preparing for both, hoping that I'll decide eventually. I know shadowing both a PA and doctor would help me choose, but it's been tougher than I thought finding someone to shadow.

Faha

7+ Year Member
Sep 15, 2012
Status
Attending Physician