Should I bother?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rasajdak

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Should I bother apply to the four SUNY schools? I'm a NYS resident with a 3.1 gpa. I have yet to take the MCAT (June 15). Is there a certain GPA cutoff? I'm going to apply to mostly osteopathic schools, but the SUNY schools (specifically Buffalo) seem so much more convenient. I guess I'm hoping that being a resident and attending undergrad at a SUNY school would help my case. Any suggestions whatsoever would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Ryan

Members don't see this ad.

What is the avg gpa at each SUNY school? What is the avg MCAT?

Find each school's LizzyM score. Multiply the school's avg gpa by 10. Add the avg MCAT. Subtract 1.
Fill in the blanks with each school's LizzyM score
Stonybrook:
Downstate:
Syracuse:
Buffalo:

Now wait for your MCAT scores.

Take your gpa times 10 (31) and add your MCAT. This is your Lizzy score. Compare to the LizzyM scroes. If your Lizzy score equals or exceeds the school's LizzyM score, then you have a 50-50 shot there. If it is less than the school's score, you will have a more difficult time getting an interview. (exceptions being made, perhaps, for 3rd generation legacies with 4 publications and a LOR from Paul Farmer.)

Hello,
My friend got an interview at NYMC (which granted is not SUNY, but still) with a 3.1 GPA and a 35 MCAT and she is international.
My advice: apply away, you never know. This process is insanely random.

Members don't see this ad :)
Repost from the DO form:

-----
So...