ash914

5+ Year Member
May 20, 2009
Status
I volunteer at an uninsured clinic and volunteers do everything from screening and recruiting patients to registering them and billing them after their visit. I'm still a freshman, its enjoyable enough, and I get shadowing experience elsewhere, so should I continue with it and does it count as clinical experience?

NickNaylor

Thank You for Smoking
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
May 22, 2008
Deep in the heart of Texas
Status
Attending Physician
1) Do you enjoy it? If yes, go to #2. If no, find something else to do.

2) Is there something else you can do with that time that you'd feel would be more productive? If yes, do that other "something." If no, stick with it.

This is oversimplified of course, but a good place to start.

Pills Of Soap

iBrawl
5+ Year Member
Jun 15, 2009
Sunny
Status
Medical Student
seems like a good experience. are u able to see doctors work with patients too? if so then this is a definitely a clinical experience, and probably one of the better ones.

med schools like to see long continuous exposures to the clinical setting (about 12months). so unless u got something lined up, this sounds like a good gig.

shindotp

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Apr 1, 2008
Status
Pre-Medical
That sounds like way better clinical experience than shadowing and volunteering at 99% of all hospitals.

OP
A

ash914

5+ Year Member
May 20, 2009
Status
seems like a good experience. are u able to see doctors work with patients too? if so then this is a definitely a clinical experience, and probably one of the better ones.

med schools like to see long continuous exposures to the clinical setting (about 12months). so unless u got something lined up, this sounds like a good gig.
What I see doctors do is really limited, but there is some. Maybe I'll ask the nurses if I could help with taking vitals, drawing blood, and the like.