Should I do a Masters??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wee Kings

Reaction score
oGPA 3.47
DAT 19, 21 TS (didn't study much for it tbh)
Plenty of community service and shadowing
Strong LOR & an okay PS
Offered three interviews (NOVA -> waitlisted, UNE -> denied, Touro -> waiting to interview)

If it doesn't work out this semester I'm thinking that I should do the MS program of Oral Health at BU.
Do you people think this is the best thing to do? Or should I go the cheaper route and just retake the DAT, study hard and kill it?

Any advice would be sweet..

*this is my first time applying if that makes a difference..

Members don't see this ad.

In my opinion, no you shouldn't do a masters. What's your science GPA?
Your GPA isn't awful, it's not great, but it's definitely not bad. Retake the DAT and get a killer score by adjusting your study habits or by studying more. Rewrite your PS and include your perseverance of not getting in your first time but still are fully passionate about dentistry etc. Then have many people read it and have them give you advice on what to add/remove. Continue to shadow and volunteer when you have time to show you're staying active in dentistry still, and maybe work on your interviewing skills if you think they may be lacking

Unless you have someone funding your masters program, they are a money pit with the current interests rates of Federal Grad Plus loans. Unless you have someone paying for it and your GPA is really low, I wouldn't recommend someone getting their masters just to attend dental school.
That loan will accumulate interest immediately and all the way through dental school. That estimated $72,000 tuition including cost of living will balloon to nearly $100k by the time you graduate dental school. Add that to a high CoA school like NOVA, and it'll be a long dark road to pay that back

Reactions: 1 user
I would highly recommend not taking at masters.