Should I do an SMP? Nontrad RN, low sGPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RNtoPossibleMD

Reaction score
I am a nontrad student, late 20s. Based on the AMCAS calculator, my undergrad cGPA is 3.51 & sGPA 3.05. My GPA took a huge hit concentrated around two semesters at a post-bac with excruciating personal circumstances (in hindsight, I should have asked for those grades to be dropped). Previously, I was a straight-A student and most of my pre-reqs are As. After spending some time near-homeless and hopeless, I believed that my chances were shot. I went and got an MSN, became an RN at the beginning of this year, and I still want to be a doctor. There is honestly nothing else I see myself doing at this point. I don't want to become an NP; it's a fallback option. But I will regret it for the rest of my life if I don't try.

Despite my username, I am interested solely in a DO education. I am willing to move anywhere and apply to as many schools as possible. With the amount of credits I have, I am not going to be able to budge my GPA much higher. Is it worth paying additional money to do an SMP? Or should I focus on boosting the rest of my application? I'm going to start studying for the MCAT and looking for recommenders, but I'm not sure what else I can do. Volunteer opportunities are few right now, but I have volunteer experience from ~10 years ago. I know it's a long shot with my poor stats.

Thanks guys. Hope you're staying sane & healthy.

Members don't see this ad.

As an RN you have lot of clinical experience. Focus on your MCAT and that will be the deciding factor, take MCAT when you are 100% ready. If you hit MCAT 510, it will compensate your low sGPA. At this time I don't think you need SMP. Get DO/MD LOR as you are working with them.