Medical Should I do an SMP record enhancer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tantacles

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm brand new to SDN but I've been skimming along the site for a while now. I was hoping to get a general feedback or tips on how to enhance my application for medical school.

I applied to a few schools pretty late after going back and forth if I should apply or not this cycle. I ended up submitting an app to UWMC (I am a WA resident), NYMC, and Rosalind Franklin in Chicago just to see what happens on a whim. I am mainly focusing on SMP programs however since I have so many credits already that I don't think an undergraduate program would help me much at all. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Right now, I'm looking at BU MAMS and Temple primarily but also possibly JHU HSI? I was also looking at Georgetown but I read some not so appealing things about their program after searching them up on SDN. Would you think I would have a shot at making it to these programs?

Even though DO might be a better option for me and would make me a physician all the same, I have my heart set on an MD program even though it might not be the most realistic. The reason I would like to do an SMP program is to show I am prepared for the rigor in medical school even though my undergraduate stats might not say so.

As a side question as well, if I were to get into an SMP program, would it be advisable to just take the one year and apply while I am in the program so as to matriculate into medical school the following fall or just take another year to work and apply? The former option would of course be assuming I work my ass to the bone for one year and do well in the program.

Here are a few parts of my app that I think are relevant:

Major: Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology
Minor: Spanish

Year BCPM AO Total
GPA Hours GPA Hours GPA Hours
Freshman 2.85 19.80 3.17 5.90 2.92 25.70
Sophomore 2.61 22.00 1.78 7.30 2.40 29.30