SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Should I even bother applying?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Kilgore, May 16, 2007.

1. Kilgore

Kilgore Junior Member 2+ Year Member

Jul 6, 2006
    I'm a soon to be senior, in the process now of deciding whether or not it's even worth it to apply to med school. Just to give you a brief summary of myself, my undergrad gpa is a 3.51 and my bcpm gpa is a 3.2. I am majoring in biochemistry and molecular biology. I attend a large public university and am in the honors program. During my years here, I have received 3 C+'s in bio 1 &2, and biochemistry. I haven't taken my mcat yet, but have registered for the july 24 date. I took cell bio this semester and improved slightly on my grades...got a B in the class. I have approached 3 of my professors and none of them guaranteed that they could provide me with a "strong" recommendation. In fact, my physics prof told me that since he didn't know me personally, he would only agree to countersign a letter that a TA had written for me. Another prof, my cell bio teacher, told me that he could not write a strong letter because I only received a B in his class. My extracurriculars are not extraordinary...president of a club i founded, some volunteer hours at a hospital, and research ( no publications yet). So that is basically my entire profile (i apologize...that wasn't brief). And on top of that, since i'm taking my mcat so late, i probably won't be able to complete my application until end of august. Anyways, i just feel like everything is pretty much going against my favor and i just don't know whether or not it would be worth it to spend money on schools that probably won't even look at me. Do you think it's best to wait and pursue a masters degree first then apply or should i continue with my plans to apply? Any advice/insight would be much appreciated! Thanks!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. spicedmanna