May 5, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
So this is my dilemma. I am film major (BFA), have a cumulative GPA of 2.97 and my Science GPA is about 2.7. I will admit that I wasn't really interested in med school initially and took the classes to satisfy my parents. But i really want to join now. I took the MCAT twice and both times landed a 19. I dont have any medical experience whatsoever and I have been working in film for over 7 years now as a writer for various TV shows and directors (Currently working on Archie Comics movie adaptations script). My premed advisor wont write a committee letter because "I am not a worthy candidate." I am not stupid at all, just made a couple of bad decisions that I regret and I am more than willing to make up for it. Do they have medical schools in the US that allow students like me in for a trial semester to see if I am any good? Also, with these scores, what should I do with the Caribbean school? It might seem that I am too involved in film, but the reason is that I am a very good writer and it was my bread and butter for years. I am very interested in medical school not for the typical reasons to help people, money, etc..but because I am fascinated by the human body and want to learn how far the limits of a human body can go..I would love to hear your feedback. Thanks.

Aug 1, 2009
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Okay..Well it all depends...Sure you kinda screwed up your film GPA.(no offence.) But, if you really,really want to be a doctor than of course its possible..Nothings impossible..But you have a long road ahead of you, but it can be accomplished with hardwork and determination...

I have a friend who dropped out of high school his freshman year, got his GED when he turned 18...And now hes working on his undergrad and he's doing amazingly well so far.... And not to mention the reason he dropped out of high school was because he started selling drugs.....:laugh:

So anything is possible aslong as you WANT it....