Should I get my masters in educational psychology? Job prospects?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

happynonsense

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a college sophomore. I'm thinking of getting my bachelors in psych and the apply to the masters program for educational psychology. (Hunter College)

I have a few questions about this field.

How tough is the competition to become an educational psychologist in NYC or NYS?

Do I need to get a PhD to work in educational psychology?
Is a masters degree sufficient to work in the field?

Is this degree in demand?
What are the job prospects?
Are these kinds of jobs secure? I live in NYC.

In terms of career objectives, I would like a career where I would be involved in program evaluation, institutional research, assessment and testing, and instruction and curriculum development.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not familiar with the NY market, but educational psych is less appealing than before. Based on your interests, have you considered M.Ed, Ed.D or related degrees?

Is this degree in demand?
What are the job prospects?
Are these kinds of jobs secure? I live in NYC.

In terms of career objectives, I would like a career where I would be involved in program evaluation, institutional research, assessment and testing, and instruction and curriculum development.

Are you asking whether the degree is in demand (are you going to be competing with people for entry?) or are people with the degree in demand (can I get a job easily?)? The reason why I ask is because the answer to the first is "maybe, but historically not so much as other degrees in psychology and education." The answer to the second question is, "if you want job entry with a degree, become a nurse."