Should I go down this path? (URM, nontrad, career changer)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

losiro24

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I'm fairly new to SDN, so apologies if this is the wrong place to post this. Need advice while it's still early in my med school journey.

I'm a nontrad/career-changer and URM (AA female), currently 27 years old. I received my BA from a public research university with a 3.77 cGPA in humanities major. I did lots of volunteering, student leadership, departmental honors, etc. Went on to get my law degree from a top 6 school. I received a full tuition scholarship to attend (awarded based on combo of academic merit and overcoming economic hardship). My law school grades were average. I had my daughter during law school, so I wasn't super involved with on-campus activities; in fact I commuted from over an hour away, so I pretty much went to class, did my work, came home. After law school, I worked three years in Big Law (international law firm) doing corporate legal work. This brings me to now - I have two kids, recently quit my job to stay home with them and to begin working on pre-reqs in the hopes of going to med school.

My goal is to become an OBGYN. It's been my dream job for as long as I can remember (don't ask how I wound up in law school - very long story). I'm also considering going the nursing school route and becoming a midwife, but med school/OB would be much preferred. I just want to know if you all think I will have a chance.

Here is my plan (I hope to apply in 2019 and start school in fall 2020):

- take gen chem and bio at a community college
- take ochem and phsyics at a 4-year university as a non-matric
- possibly take biochem and microbio (or another elective) at 4-year U
- volunteer as a labor doula to low-income women in Chicago (from now until I matriculate)
- volunteer at a hospital as a patient support person (from now until I matriculate)