Should I go to Pharmacy School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

college kid

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone on SDN, this is my first (and hopefully not last) post. I'm a recently graduated college student - looking to go back to college :). Unfortunately, the BS I obtained doesn't really cover ANY of the pre-reqs for applying to pharmacy school (except for the electives), so I'd need to start in Pre-Pharmacy, rather than an actual PharmD program.

So here's the deal: I know that if I put my mind to it, I can make it through a Pharmacy program - and I'm very interested in this type of work. But, speaking realistically, I'm also choosing to go back because of the lack of career opportunities in my currents BS's industry, and am looking for a field that's more stable, and is expanding. I've read the BLS.gov stats, which suggests that there should be excellent job opportunities from now through 2018, but I'd like to get some feedback from people who are actually in Pharmacy...

I appreciate the feedback!

Members don't see this ad.

The honest answer to job prospects is: no one knows. Everyone can make presumptions and predictions but you might as well call up Ms. Cleo (am I too old for anyone to get that reference?) and you'd have just as good of an idea. If you would like to join the profession then by all means go for it. Long gone are the days where just having a PharmD guaranteed you your choice of job and at your choice of location. There's a lot more competition out there which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Differentiating yourself from another candidate is the way to go. That may involve networking, residency, voodoo, Jedi mind tricks, etc.; whatever works.